Islam is a major world religion founded in Arabia. Based on the teachings of a man named Muhammad, one who practices Islam is called a Muslim. A practicing Muslim follows the teachings from the Koran, (sometimes written as Qu’ran). It is the written revelation from Allah to Muhammad. The Muslim population is estimated at more than 1 billion covering many different areas of the world. It is most common in Africa, the Middle East, and sections of Asia and Europe. There are 6 million Muslims in the United States alone.

Central Belief

Monotheism is the central theme of Islam—a belief in only one God, Allah, who is omnipotent. According to Islam, God has four fundamental functions: creation, sustenance, guidance, and judgment. The overall purpose of humanity is to serve Allah, to worship him alone and to construct a moral lifestyle.

The Koran declares that making the earth a better place is every human’s job in this world. The Koran criticizes humans for their selfishness, which causes them to lose sight of their Creator. Because of this, individuals must go beyond their selfishness and develop an inner moral quality of taqwa (meaning, “to guard against danger”). Each individual goal is for the good of human kind, not themselves.

Islam teaches that, because of humanity’s moral weakness, God sent prophets to teach both individuals and nations correct moral and spiritual behaviors. Since the messages of all prophets emanate from the same divine source, religions are basically one. All prophets are human, but they are the most perfect examples of what humans should be. Muslims believe that Muhammad was the final prophet and that the Koran is the final and most perfect revelation of God. The Koran is supposed to be superior to all earlier revelations from God. Muslims also believe in a final judgment when individuals will be judged according to their deeds.

The Five Pillars of Faith

Once a Muslim, each member must carry out five essential duties, called The Five Pillars of Faith. They are listed below:

  1. A Muslim must acknowledge that “There is no God but Allah and Muhammad is his Prophet”

  2. A Muslim must pray five times daily facing Mecca: at dawn, at noon, in the midafternoon, at dusk, and after dark.

  3. Each Muslim must pay a zagat to the government.

  4. A Muslim must fast for the month of Ramadan. During the fasting month, one must refrain from eating, drinking, smoking, and sexual intercourse from dawn until sunset.

  5. A Muslim must make a pilgrimage to Mecca. Every adult Muslim who is physically and financially able to do so must make this pilgrimage at least once in his or her lifetime.


San Diego Opera chooses a noble death

At the end of Verdi’s “A Masked Ball,” the San Diego Opera’s most recent production at the Civic Theatre, the King is stabbed by his best friend.Nobody comes to his aid or suggests he may be in need of medical attention. This is grand opera, where the most replica michael kors important thing is a noble cheap michael kors bags death. King Gustav III forgives everyone in sight before he expires and the curtain falls.Who knew that “A Masked Ball” was a portent for the San Diego Opera’s astonishing announcement last week? The 49 year old company’s board voted Wednesday to close at the end of this season, and in the words of Ian Campbell, CEO and general and artistic director, “go out with dignity, on a high note with heads held high,” rather than succumbing to the alternative of slipping “into the night, leaving creditors and community cheap Michael Kors in the lurch.”This king, however, wasn’t stabbed. He was facing some serious Campbell and his board would say michael kors cheap terminal fundraising and ticket selling challenges to produce a 2015 season that was announced a few weeks ago.Exactly how much additional funding the company would have needed to put on a celebratory, 50th anniversary season that would have included “La Boheme,” “Don Giovanni,” “Nixon in China,” “Tannhauser” and a mariachi opera is Michael Kors handbag outlet in question.The opera has essentially run through a $10 million bequest from cheap michael kors purses Joan Kroc that had provided as much as $1 million per season since 2003 and the company was drawing down its reserves. Campbell said last week the organization would need to raise an additional $10 million to continue for even one more season.Yet, the San Diego Opera, with a 2013 operating budget of $16.3 million, ended its fiscal year in the black, even if it needed to tap into some of its investments to realize a positive bottom line and make its annual claim of a balanced budget. According to its audited financial statements for 2013, the San Diego Opera Association showed net assets of $15,653,159 as of June 30.What most to blame for the announced closing of the San Diego Opera?High costs8% (162)Decline in fan base18% (346)Decline in donations4% discount michael kors (73)All of the cheap michael kors handbags above70% (1384)There’s cheap replica michael kors no accumulated deficit, typically the silent killer of arts organizations. And the company has the strong support of the city’s moneyed elite, who have provided the institution with hundreds of millions of dollars over the years.”There are many companies that face more challenging circumstances that have worked to engender support from their boards and support from the community, companies that have embraced new artistic strategies to create community excitement.”The San Diego Opera is the third largest cultural institution in San Diego, an employer of hundreds of musicians, artisans and administrators, a significant contributor to San Diego’s burgeoning “creative economy,” and one of the stars in the civic crown that allows San Diego to make the claim it is a world class city.This is an opera company, not an opera. Why is the replica cheap Michael Kors San Diego Opera pursuing a noble end rather than finding a way to survive?.Articles Connexes:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>